Author Topic: If my employer doesn't offer a 401k, and I've maxed out an IRA, what's next?  (Read 5666 times)

bigalsmith101

• Pencil Stache
  • Yes, that's really my face.
    • No Jobs, No Responsibilities, No Better Time then Now
I'm new to this investing "game", but am no stranger to saving money, so I've now come to a scenario that I need help navigating.

Neither my employer, nor my wife's has a 401k plan or any other sort of retirement program available.

We are easily fully funding our IRA's, and will have about $30-$35k+ to invest for our retirement.

What are our options for best maximizing our efforts to best capitalize on any options we can exploit? From the research I've done, it looks like non tax advantaged accounts are our only options.

Any advice?

frugaliknowit

• Handlebar Stache
Once you have whatever Emergency Fund you feel you need (not going into a debate on this...) and have savings for near term purchases (such a new car in 6 months, dental surgery in 8 months, etc.), you can:

1.  To the extent you want to do some low risk investing, pay off mortgage principal (arguably, you are young to be doing this, but you may have a goal to have a paid for home as of a certain date...). 
2.  Invest in "low turnover" index funds in whatever mix you feel is appropriate.  You can also invest in funds specifically designed to be tax efficient.  Vanguard calls them "Tax Managed" such that they have low turnover.

NoStacheOhio

• Handlebar Stache
Are they paying you on a W-2 or a 1099?

money beard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
If I am understanding your situation correctly, then all you can do is (1) look for other tax advantaged space like a health savings account and (2) start your taxable account.