Author Topic: Ideas needed: Turn a 100k investment into a livable income  (Read 19979 times)

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Ideas needed: Turn a 100k investment into a livable income
« Reply #50 on: February 10, 2016, 02:15:30 PM »
I work at a non-profit and I get paid pretty well, IMO.  I'm a senior accountant (no subordinates) and my base salary is $90,177.  The organization is solid, benefits are great, work life balance is the best I've ever had.

I know a good number of small business owners.  It can take over your life and be a huge time suck.  It works if you find a way to make it profitable with minimum input (like in the cleaning offices example, it's just logistics) or if you are really passionate about it.  Urban farming or small sustainable farming profits are insanely crappy.  People just do it because they love it.

DebtFreeBy25

• Stubble
« Reply #51 on: February 10, 2016, 05:18:48 PM »
You haven't found the right non-profits.

Granted, in most cases salaries are going to be lower than in for-profit companies.  But a well-managed non-profit can offer very competitive salaries and good benefits.

Private foundations are typically at the top of the heap. 
Large organizations with good reputations/donor base and/or large government grants are another better-than-average type to look for.

I worked for two organizations in these categories, lived within my means, made some strategic investments, and am semi-retired at age 47. 

I have a friend who just got hired into a development position at Planned Parenthood, and she says the pay and benefits are awesome.

And I also don't totally understand the reluctance to try the 35k community development job.  Your expenses are only 10k a year. That means you could plow 20k plus into retirement accounts and have little to no taxable income.  Since you say you are willing to work to 75 if you find work you enjoy, why is this not an option?