Author Topic: I need bike short recs from skinny-ass people  (Read 1484 times)

wenchsenior

• Magnum Stache
I need bike short recs from skinny-ass people
« on: April 26, 2021, 02:57:17 PM »
I haven't ridden a bike in more than 30 years and don't particularly enjoy bikes, but I recently started riding again (only on paved roads) as part of reconditioning a chronic hamstring injury.  Problem is that my butt is a bundle of twigs, and our 30 minute rides cause my butt bones/what little fat I have to actively hurt both during the ride and for 2 days afterward. I'm riding 2-3x per week, so that means I have a sore butt nearly all the time now.

It's a mid-price trail bike; the seat is narrow and rock hard.  My first thought was to try to find a broader heavily padded seat, but then I heard through the grapevine that I should get the proper padded shorts, rather than try to change out the seat.

Thoughts? And more importantly, recs/links?

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
Re: I need bike short recs from skinny-ass people
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2021, 03:44:01 PM »
OK . . . first of all . . . welcome to the wonderful world of bike related ass problems!

Getting a good pair of bike shorts helps a lot with butt discomfort and are a good idea to try out for a variety of reasons . . . but if you're getting sore from 30 minute rides, I have a few other recommendations first:

Impacts:
- You don't have to be a pro racer or anything handling wise . . . but it's important to learn to lift your butt a couple millimeters off the saddle when you're going over bumps.  If you don't do this (and stay firmly seated) all the impact goes straight to your rear (which sucks) . . . but more importantly, it puts a lot of pressure and stress on your rear wheel and will lead to premature spoke failure (which sucks more because it costs money!)