Author Topic: I need a swift punch or kick about eating out  (Read 4084 times)

ETBen

• Bristles
    • I started a journal about single parenting and the new life towards FIRE
I need a swift punch or kick about eating out
« on: June 17, 2016, 06:46:48 AM »
Really. Tell me how I'm wasting money!  I used to think I've been eating out bc of being tired and not preparing well. But I realized that's not it bc I am actually preparing and such now. I think the problem is it feels lonely. It's just me now many nights. Half the time it's me and the two boys. We were always an "eat at the table" family. But in both cases I still feel like cooking and eating isn't the event it used to be or I'm a little lonely.

I love to cook and I'm a good cook. But I don't get the warm fuzzies anymore about it. I have a great kitchen, fresh herbs. I eat out all of the time now.

aperture

• Bristles
Re: I need a swift punch or kick about eating out
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2016, 06:59:07 AM »
If eating out is what you value - do it.  You can still make good $ choices like drinking water and choosing large appetizers for a meal etc.  My wife values restaurants and drinks with friends and we built that into her discretionary budget.  No big deal.  -Ap

ETBen

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2016, 07:34:08 AM »
If eating out is what you value - do it.  You can still make good $ choices like drinking water and choosing large appetizers for a meal etc.  My wife values restaurants and drinks with friends and we built that into her discretionary budget.  No big deal.  -Ap

I do but this is becoming a daily thing!  I compensate with less groceries and it's not all expensive. But still.

It's funny bc I wrote my post while at breakfast. And I just got home and realize I left my other half of the meal on the table in the box. So I didn't even remember to bring it home!  What a waste!!

Ceridwen

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2016, 07:35:34 AM »