Author Topic: I need a second opinion on my budget  (Read 17428 times)

RedMaple

• Stubble
I need a second opinion on my budget
« on: May 17, 2013, 12:23:24 PM »
I've been reading the forums for some time now, but I decided today to join the community. This is a two question post. 1. I would like to get your opinion regarding my finances. I live in NYC where rent doesn't come cheap. I am a single professional woman who at times works crazy hours. 2. My issue with the * items

These amounts are this years average (Jan - Apr)

29.51     Internet* + Netflix
 62.31     Electric/Gas
 67.15     Cell Phone*
 70.68     Commuter pass (tax free)
 65.42     Hair
116.71     Shopping (Anything that isn't included in the broken out categories; like toiletries, pharmacy, presents, clothes, shoes, entertainment, extra ordinary expenses etc.)
259.56     Food (Grocery + Dine)
1,290.01  Rent
1,961.33  Total

3,185.28  Net monthly salary

Notes:

CELL PHONE:
I've been painstakingly trying to decrease my cell phone bill, but I cannot find the right solution. I am off contract with AT&T and I use their microcell (that I got for free) to have reception in my apt. I tried tmobile but I had no reception - due to different frequencies. If I leave AT&T I won't have reception in my house, so I'll also have to get a landline or VoIP**. If I were to do that, I would get a dumb emergency phone for ~10 p/m and a data plan $20 for my tablet (I am looking for another job).

INTERNET**:
My home internet price will triple in several months - I am considering canceling the internet all together and just using my phone or tablet as internet, but this would mean I wouldn't be able to have VoIP, cancel Netflix.

The other thing too that I was thinking about, is getting DSL with a landline (~65), having a dumb emergency phone (~10), data plan for tablet (~20) = $95

If I keep my internet then it would cost ~60, dumb phone ~10, data plan ~20 + VoIP ?? = at least $90.