Author Topic: I need a Scanner  (Read 10044 times)

salmp01

• Stubble
I need a Scanner
« on: April 02, 2013, 11:14:18 AM »
I’m in need of a scanner and am hoping to get some recommendations.   My old scanner was an all in one HP scanner but it finally gave out.  I have another printer I can use but I need a scanner.  I’m a real estate agent and own several rental properties and scan multiple documents several times a week.   With my last scanner the output of the file sizes was larger than I’d like it to be which ends up eating much of my disk space.  So if you can recommend a scanner that has clear output with small file sizes that would be preferable.   I would also consider a laser/Scanner combo as the printer I’m currently using is an inkjet printer.

igthebold

• Bristles
Re: I need a Scanner
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 11:19:10 AM »
I have been using a Fujitsu ScanSnap document scanner for a few years and have been very happy with it. My main problem is that I actually have to *do* the scanning to accomplish a paperless office, but that probably won't be a problem for you.

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2013, 11:23:00 AM »
I've been using a free android app called camscanner that generates PDFs using your phone's camera.  I only scan a few documents per week, but it has worked great so far.  You trade the convenience of large document auto feeding for the convenience of portability and instant access to your scanner anywhere.

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2013, 12:02:14 PM »
Depending on the scanner's output format, you can probably post-process the files to reduce the size considerably.

Daley

• Magnum Stache
  • Still kickin', I guess.
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 12:39:46 PM »
Scanners are pretty much dime a dozen these days as long as they don't break.