Author Topic: I just turned 18, how do i build healthy spending habits?  (Read 3990 times)

Frctl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I just turned 18, how do i build healthy spending habits?
« on: March 27, 2017, 09:07:18 AM »
I've recently found MMM through a friend. I've been hooked ever since, all of the things the blog touches on is quite alien to me. All i do every morning before getting out of bed is read for around 30 minutes and imagine my life after 20 years of following MMM's example.... Okay but how do i start? I've searched few of the words i do not understand and I have no idea how debts work all tho i would like to never get a loan that's why im going with free education in university. But how do i start following MMM's principles when i just turned 18 and am still living under my parents' roof? Also I'm studying programming if that's of any help. If any of you could point me to the right direction i'd be very greatful!

AlanStache

• Magnum Stache
Re: I just turned 18, how do i build healthy spending habits?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 09:18:18 AM »
Welcome!

Keep reading the blog posts.

Invest in low cost index funds.  Setting up an investment account is easy, and should not at all be a cause of fear.

Debt is not 100% all bad.  Use it smartly.  This can get complicated.

Remember you are not trying to minimize spending, you are trying to maximize happiness - and buying useless crap does not make you happy in the long term. 

Minimizing university spending may not maximize net worth 10 years down the line.  Depending on many specifics it could be best to have small student loans.  ie if 10k in loans can get you a starting salary 10k higher it is probably worth it. 

Do you have a budget?  Are you spending 50% of your income on stupid shit?  What you need to focus on depends on what you are weak at. 

begood

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 09:24:35 AM »
A few simple steps to follow:

Spend less than you earn and save the difference.