Author Topic: I have too much free time during work  (Read 5736 times)

kaposzta

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Years Until FIRE Calculator
I have too much free time during work
« on: June 07, 2015, 02:16:21 PM »
I have a weird problem during work. I'm an accountant at a huge multionational company, and I need to work only 3-4 hours a day. I visit a few sites (including this forum :) ), but I get bored after an hour or so. I'm writing macros in Excel (just to do something) to improve/speed up our processes, but the outcome is that I have less and less work owing to these smart programs :)

My question is: what should I do in my spare time? (My ideas: improving my language skills, learning new programming languages, brainstorming about my work - but these activities require only a few hours per week.)

Please help me :) I don't want to leave (to find a more challenging job), because I have great teammates, and I'm quite happy with my salary. I just want to do something meaningful or useful during the boring hours.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2015, 02:20:04 PM by kaposzta »

kpd905

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I have too much free time during work
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2015, 02:29:14 PM »
In to follow, I also have a ton of free time.

I think the language thing might be a good idea with Duolingo or Memrise.

For coding you could look into Code Academy or get a copy of "Learn Python the Hard Way" and follow along.

Maybe take a course on Coursera or Edx.org.

I usually end up researching trips that I want to take.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2015, 02:31:48 PM by kpd905 »

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2015, 03:13:52 PM »
Ask your boss for more interesting things to do?

mozar

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2015, 07:52:42 PM »
Can you get a certification or more certifications?

zolotiyeruki

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2015, 07:57:35 PM »