Author Topic: I could use some advice on the rest of my life  (Read 25603 times)

Kev

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I could use some advice on the rest of my life
« on: May 06, 2014, 01:15:21 PM »
Hey everybody, I've been reading through the articles for a few months and now I'm ready to get involved in the community! But first I need some advice on what should be the next course of action in my life.

I graduated from college a few years ago and I currently have $40k in loans. I'll have $30k in the bank by the end of this month and I'll be moving out with my girlfriend this summer (renting for a year because of job locations) and plan to get married and buy a house the year or so after.

As everyone knows, when you get married to a person, you also marry their family........and their debt! My girlfriend's in deep, she graduates from school this month and she'll have about $110k in loans. That's $150k in loans between us! I'll make about $50k this year and she'll make $30k so that's an annual income of $80k. I already paid off one loan that had a crazy high interest rate but I'm hesitant to pay off more loans with a wedding and home purchase coming up next year. I've taught my girlfriend many ways to save her money but as you can see, she wasn't financially aware at all before we met. How should I go about attacking this debt with enough money for the wedding/house?

*Edit* Just a note, I'm contributing to my 401k and have about $1500 in stocks right now, trying to save more! *Edit*
« Last Edit: May 06, 2014, 01:17:14 PM by Kev »

HAULIN3

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Plant Strong!
Re: I could use some advice on the rest of my life
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 01:27:57 PM »