Author Topic: I bought a new car a year ago...  (Read 9326 times)

veazer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I bought a new car a year ago...
« on: April 27, 2016, 09:48:06 AM »
So a year ago I graduated from college and sold an old Ford Windstar with 220K miles. I then bought a new 2015 Honda fit base model manual for $16K financed at 1.5% for 3 years. My reasoning at the time was that I wanted a fit-like car in a stick, but that prices for used fits with ~100K miles were about $9-10K when I could get a new one for $16K with far better features (cruise control and bluetooth, that I could've added to a used car but it was easier to just buy something that had them, in addition to better seats, space, mileage, etc.). I've had enough invested since before I bought the car to pay it off anytime and I make $75K/yr as an engineer, but having read a bunch of MMM's posts about car inventory, I'm realizing that I should've looked into older cars or similar hatchbacks.

That said now that I've bought the fit I do like it and I've racked up about 20K miles in its first year (That driving will decrease to about 12K soon I think, I'm on a temporary work assignment in a different state and have been driving back to visit my parents/friends/spend weeks at my work home base). Should I sell it and buy something older or keep it and drive it until it dies or until my GF wants it and I can then buy the old, used miata I've always wanted? If I keep it I'll wait until I've had it for 3 years and then drop collision and comprehensive if I have a garage to park it in by then. Thoughts? Should it stay or should it go?

NoStacheOhio

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I bought a new car a year ago...
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2016, 10:31:26 AM »
What would you buy instead? What's the resale vs. balance of the loan?

You already have this one, and it's a very practical/economical car (depreciation not withstanding). Will trading it in allow you to save more money?