Author Topic: I am free but how do I figure out my goals?  (Read 8188 times)

GemJedi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I am free but how do I figure out my goals?
« on: November 24, 2014, 12:22:22 AM »
I have achieved financial freedom. My investments create enough income to live on. Yay. But now I find myself questioning if this freedom comes at the expense of motivation.

As background I am an attorney. I practice the kind of law that I generally like but being an attorney is not really a happy profession.  I help my clients get the money they are owed by insurance companies. When I am finished and they get paid the claim that was originally denied, they seem thankful for my services. But I realize that my fee is setting them back money they should not have to pay if the insurer had just come through in the first place like they promised. And in the rare cases I lose, I tend to get devastated by the injustice. So what, nothing is perfect right? But the thing is I don't need to work for the money, I need to work to stay busy and be fulfilled. And at the end of the day I am not sure fighting with other attorneys all the time, reassuring clients in financial distress, and feeling guilty over my fees is that fulfilling. What I like about it though is that it keeps me busy but I control my schedule. I can take long weekends or vacations without worry. And it is a solid gig in the eyes of society so I don't look like I am a country club shrub.

I used to be a practicing jewelry craftsman. I enjoyed that a lot. Except the part where the industry goes nuts in December and no one is allowed to take vacations during the time when most people, including me, want to take vacations. So I am reluctant to go back to that.