Author Topic: I'm officially done with welfare! So now what?  (Read 11414 times)

WelfaretoWealth

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Work In Progress
I'm officially done with welfare! So now what?
« on: April 17, 2016, 11:34:48 PM »

For the record I understand that I really don't belong here. Most of you have grad degrees and diversified portfolios. I have a HS diploma and a career technical certificate. I do plan continuing my education when  the time is right.

After a breakup I was left with no money, no job, and very little resources.  In order to be free of a raging alcoholic I had to cut all ties especially any financial ones to the old man. Now months later I've found myself an hourly paid position that will have full benefits after the 3month probation.

I have no debt and have very little credit history. The credit history I do have is bad.  I'm in need of a new vehicle, and more now than ever because I have to commute for this position. My car right now is a gas hog and has very little value.

So where do I start? Should I get a secured credit card that was offered to me by Capital One so I can build credit?  Do I focus on getting a vehicle? How and when do I began saving/investing? Advice much appreciated 😁😇
Thank you!

***As you can imagine my embarrassmen/ shame being on government assistance. Please don't be cruel as I'm only trying to be financially free***

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: I'm officially done with welfare! So now what?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2016, 12:06:24 AM »
WelfaretoWealth, welcome to the forum.  Last I checked there are no preconditions to participation. :)

Being without debt is a great start - good for you.

Without knowing all your details, here are some thoughts:
- if your car is reliable, paying hundreds extra for gas is probably better than spending a few thousand on an upgrade.