Author Topic: I'm new to biking, are bikes from REI a good place to start?  (Read 9136 times)

Jtrey17

• Stubble
Hello MMMers,

I am completely new to biking and am wondering which bike to best to start with. Does anyone have opinion on the bikes available from REI? I'm looking for a bike to ride around the city, not off-roading. I do have a bike that I got for free as a longevity prize from my employer. It's a Pacific, or Pacifica, or something like that. I hate it. It's the most uncomfortable bike I've ever ridden. I mention this to give some insight that a garage sale of craigslist bike might not be comfortable enough for me. I'm just starting though so I really don't know and would appreciate your input!

BikeFanatic

• Pencil Stache
Re: I'm new to biking, are bikes from REI a good place to start?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2016, 02:55:20 PM »
Rei has some good bikes, I have bought 3 from them, I bought the REI brand Novara.
Their brand Novara, I have the novara portal, the women's specific road  bike ( can't think of the name) and another Novara a kind of upright mountain bike/hybrid bike. They are all excellent bikes Some cheap bikes the bottom bracket may fail right away or they have any number of fatal flaws, so stay away from the pacifica /walmart type  bikes.
  I further recommend REI because they sell you a bike then they do assembly, and they then do a tune up at 30 days. After that tune up you should be problem free for a year to 3 years. And if you are not they will fix it up for you.
Price wise they compete  with the specialized brand, and they have a sale in late August every year for 20 percent off. If you can wait it out.
I have bought one of them used but bought the other two new and am extremely satisfied, nothing like a new bike. I know many recomend used, but a great road bike for 600 dollars is not alot of money if you are going to ride every week.
Good luck.

Systems101

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2016, 08:28:15 PM »