Author Topic: I'm naturally unethical. How do I change?  (Read 12917 times)

maginvizIZ

• Bristles
I'm naturally unethical. How do I change?
« on: October 14, 2018, 07:18:02 PM »
Hello fellow Mustachians!

I'm unethical.  I'm greedy. Side story: 5 years ago I was fired as a server for "misappropriations of assets".  They had a promotion in December... Buy a $50 gift card, get a $10 gift card free.  So I decided every customer paying cash turned into $50 gift cards ($50 card would immediately be applied to tables tab), so I could make an additional $10 (to cash out on another cash table later)... Anyway $1500 later I was caught and fired.

Anyway... I thought I learned my lesson... But here I am, trying to find ways to increase income, at all cost.

I currently work in finance and was relocated to another state.  Company is paying for my rent while I'm out here... They gave me a budget ($2500 a month); use it or lose it.  So I got a nice apartment and grabbed a roommate to pay me (free apartment, plus $1250 from roommate... Yay!).

Anyway... Now they want me to end my lease and move back home.  I'm sad to see this come to an end earlier than expected (should have lasted until Feb 2019)...

I'm thinking of dragging my feet to collect an extra month of rent... I'm also thinking of ending my lease, but not telling them to collect a few extra payments... I deserve it right?!? I'm technically underpaid... So this is a way to get my true market value?

CLEARLY I KNOW I'M IN THE WRONG.  I'm sad/mad/disappointed I have a brain like this.   Anyone else have this unethical mindset?  What do you do to help yourself?  God I want the money.  Money is my favorite drug.  But I understand that getting the money this way isn't the correct way of doing it.  Any books you recommend?  Meditation? I know this is all a fairly silly post.. But really... What do I do?

Thank you very much in advance :)  Please be gentle with me.

Cranky

• Magnum Stache