Author Topic: I'm going to buy a motorbike, but which one to choose?  (Read 3601 times)

Diego

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm going to buy a motorbike, but which one to choose?
« on: July 01, 2017, 03:45:15 AM »
Hello people,

I'm pretty new in this mustachian world and my money mustache hasn't grown enough, so I ask you.

I live in Spain (sorry if my English isn't good) and my daily commute in public transport to work is about 60 min per journey (total 120 mins/day). I could reduce it to half of it by buying a not very expensive motorbike. I have make numbers and I see this (I use € but you can imagine $. Please note that in Spain we earn a lot less money than in US and Canada, so maybe this prices can look cheaper, but they aren't!)

1 year costs:
- Total public transport cost (annual): 720 €
- Total maintenance not so cheap motorbike (including gas): 1,661 €
- Total maintenance cheap motorbike (including gas): 1,094 €

Now the question: The 'not so cheap' motorbike is a BMW F650 GS ('06) and the 'cheap' motorbike is a Suzuki Marauder 250 ('07). Obviously the BMW is better (650cc vs 250cc). I have to do road trips (about 15 minutes per journey) and with the Suzuki I can't advance cars. Also, the BMW has ABS while the Suzuki doesn't. And last but not least, EVERY person (not mustachian) I know and I have ask for their opinion says the BMW will be a better fit for me, and since this will be my first motorbike, I have no prior experience with a decision like this.

The problem with this is that I'd like to work abroad (UK or USA) within a year, and then I probably would sell off the motorbike.

The BMW costs 2500€ and the Suzuki 1400€.

So, what would you do? Moving to a closer place to my workplace isn't an option here, since I live with my parents and I'm living almost free.

Thanks!

big_owl

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I'm going to buy a motorbike, but which one to choose?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2017, 09:16:25 AM »