Author Topic: I'm a Teacher doing a FIRE Project...help me with Bonds Data:)  (Read 1189 times)

aceyou

• Handlebar Stache
    • Life is Good - Aceyou's Journal
I'm a Teacher doing a FIRE Project...help me with Bonds Data:)
« on: February 06, 2019, 06:34:10 PM »
Hey MMMers

I'm a math teacher, and on Friday, I'm starting a 6 day project with my STEM Algebra 2 class on FIRE, using what we've learned about exponentials and statistical analysis to create retirement projections. 

For day 1, I to do their own analysis and determine the growth rate of Stocks, Bonds, Housing, and Gold, using historical data. 

I have data for everything...except BONDS.  Can anyone help by giving  me a link to a website that shows year vs bond price of some total bond index?  I feel like it shouldn't be hard to find, but I can't find it.  For example, Vanguard Total Bond...what price was it selling for on January 1 for the past 20 years?  Or something like that. 

I'll keep looking, but any help would be appreciated. 

Here's the Project Daily Plan, for those interested:
Day 1: Compare a few asset Classes....Stocks, Bonds, Housing, Gold.
Day 2: Explore the Trinity Charts and learn how to read them + the Shockingly Simple Math of Early Retirement Chart from MMM
Day 3-5: Pick two careers.  Find research their pay.  Run the numbers for a 10%, 20%, 30%, 40%, 50% savings rate to see how much you'd have to live on to retire in various numbers of years. 
Day 6: Present your data to the class for your two careers/savings rates, and explain what career/savings rate combo you'd pick if you had to choose today.

myrrh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: I'm a Teacher doing a FIRE Project...help me with Bonds Data:)
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2019, 11:55:45 AM »
Find a bond fund abbreviation, such as Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VBTLX).