Author Topic: I'm a newbie Mustachian, need advice please, please, please!  (Read 4888 times)

.22guy

• Stubble
I'm a newbie Mustachian, need advice please, please, please!
« on: March 02, 2013, 06:40:19 PM »
Let me start by saying that I’m new to this site but am enjoying it a lot.  I need some direction and quite possibly a few world-famous MMM face punches.  I already live a fairly frugal, Mustachian lifestyle.  I drive a truck that is over 14 years old that I purchased new with cash.  I have an inexpensive, pay as you go Smartphone for 35 bucks a month, no cable, inexpensive internet, etc.  I have a few stupid non-MMM habits as well, I smoke a few cigarettes a day, and drink waaaaay too much soda.

Currently, I am saving for down-payment on a house and have a little over 7K in a non-interest bearing bank account.  I won’t be able to get a home loan until April of 2014 due to an unfortunate bankruptcy (embarrassing to me, I had a high-maintenance wife at the time and one income, we are divorced now).  I currently put away about 12-14% of my take-home salary in the bank after rent, expenses, child care, child support, etc.

As a teacher, I contribute to my state retirement plan but nothing extra to a 403b or anything like that.  Frankly we barely made it (technically we didn’t i.e. bankruptcy) and I’m still very much trying to get used to this whole “having money” thing while on my own.  I also have 7K in a student loan with 6.5% interest rate.

Eventually, I’d like to own my own home outright, a la Dave Ramsey.  I wouldn’t mind owning a few rentals someday as well.  The thing is I really don’t know where to go from here, where to start or what to do.   I don't know anything about stocks, bonds or any type of investing.  Like I said, I’m still new to this whole “having money” thing.  I’d like to be able to retire early, but who knows what the future holds. 

Any and all thoughts would be appreciated.  Also, good links to read and research would be great.