Author Topic: I'd like to start bicycling, help me!  (Read 3415 times)

CityBaby

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'd like to start bicycling, help me!
« on: July 26, 2016, 10:38:14 AM »
Hey,

I'm new to the blog & forums, but not new to MMM and the ideas of getting FIRED and such. My dh has been hardcore into MMM only lately but he has always been very frugal.

So, biking. He is encouraging me to do it, but I am, I dunno, scared? We are car-free  (8 years now) so I am used to the pedestrian life, but we live in an urban area and I'm afraid of getting in accidents, doored and such. Or getting stuck somewhere with a broken bike. And I have two little sons (almost 4 and almost 1) and I need to take them with me pretty much everywhere I go.

Talk me into this.

I don't have a bike yet, but we have a great bike sharing system here that I could get started on, but I couldn't take my sons with me on those bikes.

JJ-

• Pencil Stache
Re: I'd like to start bicycling, help me!
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 11:04:52 AM »
You need to work on your confidence in your own biking ability before taking your sons anywhere. I also don't think people suggest taking children under one on bike rides?

Bikes can "break" on you on a ride in 3 ways: flats, accidents, and poor maintenance. You can control flats and poor maintenance issues more than you can accidents. An underseat pouch with a spare tube and pump/cartridges can get you home if you don't go for puncture resistant tires. Keeping your bike in good shape with a good bike mechanic will keep things from mechanically breaking on you during rides.  Accidents? Well, if you follow the law and safe biking practices, you will minimize the likelihood of an accident.

Bike share bikes might be a good place to start getting comfortable on a bike, but you will eventually want to find a bike that fits you and is comfortable. It will also need to tow a bike trailer if your kids are going to go with you.