Author Topic: Hypermiling question  (Read 6941 times)

chops

• Stubble
Hypermiling question
« on: February 23, 2014, 11:18:16 AM »
It had been COLD in NE until recently and I was wondering if any of the hypermilers on here could tell me if using heat actually decreases MPG performance? 

My thought is that it doesn't affect it if you can wait to turn on the heat until the car warms up (maybe 5-10 minutes after starting.)  Am I right?

Emg03063

• Bristles
Re: Hypermiling question
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2014, 01:21:06 PM »
I wouldn't expect any measurable impact regardless of wait time, as you are simply redirecting engine cooling air to inside the cabin instead of outside it.  You're not changing the load on the engine, or the cooling airflow, to my knowledge, but I'm not a mechanic.

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2014, 03:24:40 PM »
You're right.  The difference between using the heater (causing coolant flow through the heater core) and not using the heater (coolant only circulating through the engine until the thermostat opens) probably isn't that great.  But to a hypermiler, it could matter.  Make sure your thermostat is good, and that other intake preheater ducting and stock airbox are intact for best effect.

the fixer

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2014, 03:38:50 PM »
That excess heat would exist no matter what, it's a byproduct of running the engine. So whether or not the coolant carrying that heat energy gets routed into the passenger compartment or to the radiator makes no difference MPG-wise.

chops

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2014, 06:46:25 PM »
Thanks all!

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2014, 07:36:34 PM »
Cold air is denser increasing combustion efficiency

loki

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2014, 07:04:09 PM »