Author Topic: HSA management strategies  (Read 4306 times)

La Bibliotecaria Feroz

• Walrus Stache
HSA management strategies
« on: March 15, 2017, 12:12:53 PM »
I'm pretty new to having an HSA (covers me and 2 kids) and it's starting to be a bit of a mess. I also use it as an emergency fund (if you don't "know me," hi! I'm low income), so I have receipts that I have already been reimbursed for and receipts that I am saving to submit at some indefinite point in the future.

So... record keeping strategies? Throwing all the receipts in a folder and making notes on the ones I've submitted is my current strategy but it seems like there's probably a better way.

QueenV

• Stubble
Re: HSA management strategies
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 03:08:40 PM »
I'm in a similar situation, new to an HSA/HDHP this year and we've already hit our deductible due to some unexpected medical situations. So far, I'm using a two folder method, one folder for receipts that I've paid but not requested reimbursement, one for receipts that have been reimbursed. If I do request reimbursement I move the receipt to the second folder. I figure that makes them easy to tell apart and they are in one place in case of an audit. I'll probably start a new folder for reimbursed receipts next year to be able to easily track which year a receipt was reimbursed.

That being said, I'm brand new at this, so am interested to see how others are managing receipts.

kite

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 05:20:11 PM »
My method is to scan the receipts.  Use a spreado to track reimbursed versus not.
In my case, our reimbursable expenses are low, and we've been leaving the money in the HSA to pull out in the far distant future.  Receipts fade over time, and without a digital copy, not sure what I'd do. 

TheStachery

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 05:37:31 PM »