Author Topic: HSA and Debit Card  (Read 5032 times)

birdman2003

• Bristles
HSA and Debit Card
« on: March 12, 2015, 04:00:07 PM »
So I have an HSA with Fidelity and it comes with a debit card that I can use to make medical purchases.

So if I go to Walgreens and pay for a prescription with my HSA debit card, do I need to keep track of that receipt to prove to the IRS that I used my HSA money for a legit medical expense?

whydavid

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: HSA and Debit Card
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2015, 04:07:33 PM »
Warning: I am not a tax professional.  You should consult a tax attorney...yadda yadda yadda...

With that said, it totally depends.  My online HSA account portal is electronically linked to my health plan, so the claim filed by the pharmacy (for price adjudication) will flow into my HSA account and can be easily linked up with the payment made through the debit card.  In other words, all the documentation legwork is done for me.  In other other words, you do need the documentation, but your HSA company and health plan might already be gathering this for you. 

Wings

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2015, 04:24:33 PM »
I keep all of my receipts for that since it's related to the taxes.  But either way, you should get a 1099 at the end of the year anyway, so that's one of the numbers that will really be important. 
The only thing my accountant ever asks me about the HSA is did I max it out and for the 1099 on the distributions.  The rest is just your comfort level with receipt/record tracking.

FabricStache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2015, 04:28:59 PM »
I would think that you're ultimately responsible for having the back up documents and knowing what is and isn't allowed if you get audited.  The debit card is just a form of payment.

whydavid

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2015, 04:50:34 PM »