Author Topic: How to think about an uncertain future liability  (Read 5547 times)

Maybe Later

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to think about an uncertain future liability
« on: July 10, 2015, 10:56:46 AM »
Hi all,

I'm interested in different opinions on how to plan for an uncertain, but potentially costly, future liability.  I apologize in advance for the vagueness, but it concerns a legal issue.  I read the forums a lot and respect the community but have chosen not to post often.  I'm electing to post this because I'm looking for different lenses or angles to look at a financial situation I have little experience with.

Suppose that an individual entered into a transaction to sell a property in good faith.  The new owners had a problem due to the environment and it did or will cost them some money.  The new owners initiate a lawsuit (Canadian legal system).  The original owners had no knowledge or expectation that the issue would occur and their lawyers tell them not to worry about it - but be prepared for a protracted period of uncertainty.

So, I'm looking at a potential, but unlikely future liability (low six figures) in the near term (say, less than two years).  Plus associated costs.

My net worth is positive, but I'm not financially independent at our current spending levels.  A loss would be painful, and would certainly influence our long-term financial plans, but definitely not crippling.

I have never kept large emergency funds because my job is rock-solid, my spouse's is less secure for the very long term (on contract, several years at a time), but very secure in the short term and we could live on my income alone if need be.

We have a large mortgage at a low variable rate on a new house - we started building a house before we knew of the lawsuit, but finalized our mortgage after it began.  It is at a low variable rate (2.05%).  When we finalized, much was still unknown and we elected to retain a large cash buffer and take a larger mortgage.