Author Topic: How to Retire Early?  (Read 4223 times)

skidlystache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to Retire Early?
« on: September 01, 2013, 09:12:12 AM »
I've read dozens of MMM's posts but am still slightly confused on one aspect of early retirement.  The bulk of my savings are in retirement accounts (Roth IRA's, 401(k)s, TSP, etc.).  Since you can't access those funds without penalty until you're 59.5 what is an early retiree supposed to live off until reaching that age?  Other savings, part time work?  What am I missing?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: How to Retire Early?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 09:16:22 AM »
You are missing the 72t rule, aka Substantially Equal Periodic Payments‎.

Roth pipeline is another great method.  Google it or search the forums.

MMM post with ideas (including taxable, if you start early enough, using 401k as "old man money").
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2013, 09:45:49 AM »
You can access funds from your employer plan without penalty if you separate from service in or after the year you turn 55. One of those strange little exceptions in the Internal Revenue Code. Do not then roll the money over into an IRA though. Then the age is 59.5.  If you plan to retire much earlier, then Rule 72t. 

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2013, 11:39:02 AM »
72t payments aren't going to help very much unless you are already very near retirement age, have a truly enormous nest egg with low expenses, or the interest rates spike dramatically.  I wouldn't count on them.