Author Topic: How to retire early when your money is locked up in 401k?  (Read 7104 times)

Dsurf

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to retire early when your money is locked up in 401k?
« on: December 07, 2014, 01:56:16 PM »
hello,
I am new to the idea of retiring early. My question is -

How can you retire early if your money is locked up in 401ks that don't allow you to withdraw later in life?

I am 32 now and want to put 20-50k a year into investments. Can someone point me in a direction of how much this will be in 15 years or how you figure plans?

OutBy40

• Stubble
    • ThinkSaveRetire.com
Re: How to retire early when your money is locked up in 401k?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2014, 02:13:20 PM »
I opened a brokerage account and devote every spare penny to it. It'll build like your regular retirement fund will and does not contain the same restrictions that your 401k does.

Dsurf

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2014, 02:29:15 PM »
How do taxes work on your regular account? I'm sorry I'm at the ground floor of understanding and am just trying to wrap my head on taxes and how to do this is 12 years, and if it's even possible.

The first would be the plan. Thanks for responding

shuffler

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2014, 02:34:13 PM »
How can you retire early if your money is locked up in 401ks that don't allow you to withdraw later in life?
There are ways to get the money out earlier in life.  Search for "roth pipeline" or "72(t)".

I am 32 now and want to put 20-50k a year into investments. Can someone point me in a direction of how much this will be in 15 years or how you figure plans?
This is such a broad question that it's hard to answer.  20k-50k is a wide range, and "investments" isn't specific enough to have an idea of what returns to expect.