Author Topic: How to Prep Financially for a Job change across US  (Read 4611 times)

wealthviahealth

• Stubble
How to Prep Financially for a Job change across US
« on: January 30, 2015, 10:26:54 AM »
Curious as to what ideas/tips you guys might have regarding how you would financially prepare to move across the country for a new job.

I will potentially be moving to a much more expensive city but it will come with a significant pay raise. I am a young professional so this will be my first
big move and I am wondering what I can do to best prepare my self for the increased cost of living and potential rough patches before I am a few pay checks in to the higher paying job.

Most of my net worth is invested in the market but I also have a much smaller cash reserve of $5k.
I have a car loan and a student loan that I am paying rather aggressively and both cut be cut down a bit in a pinch if needed.

I am about 4-6 months out from the move and also wouldn't mind taking a month off in the new city before starting the job.

TexasStash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: How to Prep Financially for a Job change across US
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2015, 12:00:35 PM »
I moved to another state when I was first starting out in the workforce, so I can relate. Fortunately for me, I did not live in a high COL location, but I think the biggest thing to keep in mind is that COL is not as out of your control as it appears (and others think it is). Your spending is still primarily dependent on your habits, values, lifestyle choices and laziness (or lack thereof). Certainly there are things you cannot control like some portion of increase in rent and some other items. But you get to benefit from the company likely giving you more money thinking you'll need more to live and then challenging yourself to live on a similarly frugal budget despite the move.