Author Topic: How to optimize 70k salary  (Read 6936 times)

igooglesearchthings

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to optimize 70k salary
« on: August 09, 2017, 01:13:01 PM »
Hello Mustachians!

I have just started reading MMM, and it is extremely enlightening while entertaining.

Recently I graduated college and am in a fortunate position to earn a 70k salary. Starting to read a lot more personal finance, however there's the fear of not mobilizing fast enough. I have 28k in student loans (under 5% interest)

My first question is what are the MUST DOs ? (until I read through all the blog posts )

I've

• set 401k contributions up to match (6%), 70/20/10 in vanguard large/med/small cap funds
  • opened HSA, set allocation to max to 3400
  • opened up Sapphire Preferred, transferred points from freedom. (will be downgrading preferred and getting reserve after I am done with the 4k spending

Some advice I've gotten in order:

401k - up till max
pay off loans
after loans paid, start ROTH IRA (Vanguard?)

Some questions:

Should I be opening a savings account right now? Or should i do that after the loans and IRA ?

Thanks guys, happy to join this great community.

Edit: Current situation:

•   debt:28k
  • salary: 70k
  • CC limit: 9k
  • rent: 0
  • phone bill: 0
  • expenses: subscription of ~10 a month
  • commuter: $110 a month using commuter benefits
« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 01:34:44 PM by tootz »

ketchup

• Magnum Stache
Re: How to optimize 70k salary
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 01:20:48 PM »
I'd probably max the 401k first, assuming your fund choices available are reasonable (they sure sound like they are if you're already in Vanguard).  Before doing that, I'd make sure you have a reasonable emergency fund, or at least a high limit credit card to float an emergency so you don't hit a cash crunch.

Savings accounts don't really serve any purpose other than organization (and that's fine if that helps you).

I would not pay the loans off early at that interest rate.