Author Topic: How to maximize my G.I Bill  (Read 4955 times)

MariaMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to maximize my G.I Bill
« on: August 22, 2013, 09:37:38 AM »
Hello Mustachians, I need badasses like you to give it to me straight as far as the best way to maximize my G.I Bill.

Here's the skinny. I have a B.A in Communications, but I worked retail throughout college and continued to do so after I graduated. (I was a manager making decent enough money with no clear ambitions) Then I got a job as a banker and hated it. So I quit knowing I had school money left.

Here are the numbers. I have 9 months of Chapter 30. Which is $1718 a month during the semester. My cost of living expenses, without considering cc payments, is $770 a month. The local community colleges run $89 a credit, and I'm considering getting a certificate in Web Development so I can have some marketable skills, plus use them to freelance on the side for extra income. Plus, I have the opportunity to make $825/mo during the semester doing work study.

After I use up the Chapter 30, I'll have 12 academic months of Post 9/11, which will give me an $1800 housing allowance and pay my tuition up to $18k.  Getting a Paralegal Certificate at Loyola was something I was considering, or maybe doing some post baccalaureate certificate programs at Northwestern University.

OR, pursue an Engineering Management Degree, which could take a few years and require student loan debt.. Or throw my hands up and do nursing.

I'm guessing there's a good pool of various professional backgrounds amongst you mustachians, so I'm looking forward to any advice you would care to offer. Thanks!!
« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 09:40:14 AM by MariaMustache »

MariaMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: How to maximize my G.I Bill
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 11:47:24 AM »
*crickets*

MissStache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 01:06:48 PM »