Author Topic: How to make more as a software dev??? (cur: 160-170)  (Read 9897 times)

TheAnonOne

• Handlebar Stache
How to make more as a software dev??? (cur: 160-170)
« on: September 19, 2016, 10:24:25 AM »
Hello!

I am a .NET software contractor/consultant in MN and make around 160-170 (with no overtime, could be up to 190-200 if I really get 1. lucky, 2.over-worked a bit. 2015 was 205k) I usually work as a W2 so only pay my side of payroll taxes as well.

I feel confident in my skills, as I have been doing this for 7-8 years now, and have an ability to pick up new tech pretty fast.

I see some salaries on here and elsewhere that are 200-250k (full-time?) and am wondering what it takes to get to that level? What are these job types (tech type, management)?

The way I see it, I am doing well and I am not envious of anyone making 250k in the "valley" because my 170 goes a long way when my mortgage is only 600-700 bucks. Though, I see no reason to not push for the next level if one exists.

Are people exaggerating? Including other oddities (bonuses, stock options ect)? Only living in extremely HCOL areas?

Thanks! Looking forward to hearing from other people!

MrsPfennig

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • If it were easy, everyone would do it
    • Auf Heller und Pfennig
Re: How to make more as a software dev??? (cur: 160-170)
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2016, 11:18:57 AM »
Hello TheAnonOne,
great job coming that far. Unfortunately, I can't help you but my husband (also software engineer) would like to to know how you got that far.

Thanks!

EOS

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2016, 11:27:07 AM »
Any chance you can use your skills in some type of "Cloud" engineering position?  We see some serious money lately being allocated to that sector within IT

TheAnonOne

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2016, 11:32:16 AM »
Hello TheAnonOne,