Author Topic: Where to live as a Mustachian in Cambridge, MA?  (Read 7552 times)

racherinh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where to live as a Mustachian in Cambridge, MA?
« on: May 18, 2013, 02:10:12 PM »
So, we just got some great news that my DH will be working at Harvard for one or two years, so we are moving. I know the city a little bit from growing up a few hours north of there, but I've never lived there.

Details: Family of 5, kids are 6, 3, and 1, income $50,000, but I will be looking for work - probably part-time online work to keep childcare costs down (I'm a chemistry/math high school teacher - I'll explore other jobs but my experience is that it's really hard to cover childcare).

Questions:
Where should we live? We had complete sticker shock at the rent prices. We are happy in a 2 bedroom apartment, although of course we could find a use for three. As a frugal family, we are of course more interested in proximity to grocery stores (including asian/indian/mexican stores), then to hip bars or restaurants. Safety and proximity to parks is also important.

As one job will be at Harvard, it needs to be within easy commuting distance to his office and the library. Is it even possible for us to afford housing that doesn't include a stint on the T, but only walking/biking? Advice on biking in the city, especially for a professor in the winter?

Any other advice on living in Cambridge, on schools, on common pitfalls to avoid? Any tips on where the best second hand clothing stores are? Advice on things to do with kids - and memberships or tricks to optimize the city with them? I'm even open to job advice.

etselec

• Stubble
Re: Where to live as a Mustachian in Cambridge, MA?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 03:32:13 PM »