Author Topic: How to keep mom and the lady happy? Need help =)  (Read 6025 times)

fcruz420

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to keep mom and the lady happy? Need help =)
« on: June 07, 2013, 03:03:07 PM »
Good Afternoon MMM Community!!!
I Hope everyone is having a great day. I’m a newbie here and still catching up on post. My fiancée and I would love to join young retirees and I here to seek opinions and suggestion. We are both 30, residing in NJ and are planning to retire before 50. I’m hoping with your help and knowledge we can try to speed up the process to retiring around 40-45. We are still on a learning curve guys and gals so I apologize if anything isn’t clear.

Situation(Family):
I have a house that I bought 10 years ago to house a disabled mother, younger brother and myself. We are currently splitting the bills for the house and those figures are under “Exclude.” We do plan on selling that home, but at the moment they need a place to live, the housing market (New Jersey) isn’t in our favor and its working out for everyone.

Situation: My fiancée and I
The retirement, combined income, debt and expense is the case study I would love your knowledge and assistance on. We would love to make the best of our income and pay down her school loan so we can invest aggressively. We plan on investing 100% in VTSAX/VTSMX/VTI (wherever the money permits). Here are the questions I have.

1.   Given our expenses. What would you suggest regarding maxing out our employer 401k’s?
2.   I consider my TD Ameritrade account our emergency funds. Any suggestion on better ways to use that money?
3.   Any suggestions on building our financial independence money? Should the money we will live off of be in a taxable account or Roth?
4.   School loans!!! Why???? Lol… How can we put that $63k to rest?

Exclude:
My Mortgage/House Bills: $2,700 (balance on mortgage is 248k @ 3.70%) – Added to show where additional funds are going.
- this monthly equal total bills that my family and I split monthly.