Author Topic: How to handle the actual money transaction when buying/selling a car privately?  (Read 38203 times)

pinkfloyd4ever

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
This is my first time selling a car privately so I’m a little weary of the actual money transaction. My biggest concern is with selling, specifically that I actually get all the money agreed upon. Do you meet at your bank and insist that the buyer pay 100% of it in cash? That seems the safest but it’s also a little risky to ask him/her to carry around $10,000 cash.

Also, how can I ensure that I’m not going to get mugged, left without a car & out $10,000 when I’m buying? Just meet at the bank during daylight hours?

How have some of you more experienced done it?

Mr.Tako

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Mr. Tako Escapes
Cashier's check from a real (well known) bank.  Don't take a personal check.  I had a friend who accepted a check for his car once....and of course it was a fake check.

terran

• Magnum Stache
All the cars I've bought or sold have been in the $3000-5000 range, so never as much as $10,000. It's always been at my house or there house and in cash. Seller counts the cash, signs the title and people are on their way. I think doing the initial meeting and a test drive in a public place is a good idea, but hopefully they don't sketch you out and you feel comfortable with them coming to your house. The last car I sold was to a college kid with his dad and uncle along, and they all seemed like good people, so I wasn't worried. For a larger amount I might consider having them bring a bank check and meet me at my bank so I could cash it and know it cleared.

therethere

• Handlebar Stache
This made me nervous when I bought my car on craigslist too. For selling the car I made sure they handed me a certified check. The guy that bought my car was from a legit company so I also had his business name and address.