Author Topic: How to handle a difficult employee  (Read 6208 times)

IBelieveICan

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to handle a difficult employee
« on: May 19, 2016, 08:21:56 AM »
Hello MMM followers!

A new member here and I need opinions on a work situation.

Background: I am a manager in IT field, managing a staff of 15 (3 teams of 5 members each). I joined this company about 2 months ago and started assisting in a major project that has been underway since mid year 2015. I, along with another manager, handle all management for this project.

All the folks who report to me used to report to the other manager till I came on board. This is when the reorg was done by the upper management to equally divide the workforce between me and the other manager.

Here is the issue: There is a Scrum Master  (IT term people! Think of it as an iteration manager) who reports to me who has nothing been a source of trouble since day 1. Lets call him X. I met with the staff, introduced myself and started working with them gradually to gain their trust. From day 1 X has this "I don't even want to acknowledge you exist" attitude towards me. He continues to go to the other manager for all issues, signatures, concerns, even HR related things which the other manager cannot do anything about. I do understand that B (the other manager) is in a better position to assist with issues since he has been here longer. I have repeatedly asked X to "include" me in the discussions so I am aware of the issues and so I have an opportunity to learn. No progress!