Author Topic: How to get the right mindset for Dilbert style job  (Read 2683 times)

Vicster

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to get the right mindset for Dilbert style job
« on: March 05, 2017, 09:48:08 AM »
Hello

I am new to the MMM world and I am finding it fascinating and loving it.  I recently read 'Your Money or Your Life' which really inspired me and then having the inspiration of MMM I realise I need to return to office life.

I am currently working at a school which has been a really nice break from office work, but it isn't paying me anyway near enough.  I need to return to the cubicle (I do web development) but I really really struggle with office jobs and some non-office jobs too...I realise the common factor is ME!  So I was wondering if anyone could help me change my attitude.  I really struggle with the following in jobs:

1.  The sitting at a desk all day.....My last office job I cycled about 40 minutes there and 40 minutes back, would walk an hour at lunchtime, get up for a toilet break, cup of tea as often as possible, but I really struggle with the whole sitting down at a desk for 7/8 hours...it feels like imprisonment, and feels sacrilege on a day when the sun is shining.  I also find I can do most jobs in 5 hours of focused work and a lot of time feels like I'm wasting time.

2. Bosses - I always seem to attract bad bosses, it may be down to a bad experienced where I had work place bullying at one of my first jobs after uni, but I seem to be an over sensitive soul and any sign of stress or aggression from a boss makes me resent doing any work for them and often sees me leaving the job

3. The whole working for someone else and doing what is asked.  When I work for myself on my own projects or freelance projects it feels a lot more fulfilling and I find hours of focused work can pass by where I don't notice.