Author Topic: How to get a loan with no credit? College student  (Read 1367 times)

anonn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to get a loan with no credit? College student
« on: January 14, 2019, 11:54:36 AM »
Hello all,

I'm new here and this is my first post. Here is my financial dilemma, I am a college student who is studying music and education. However, at our university, education requires a year of grad school. My parents had been paying for my college using my dad's military benefits, by him going to school and receiving money for it, then using the left over for my college bills. But now he has stopped, and so paying for college has become extremely hard. Because I am going into education, I know that I can pay off all loans and reduce the interest because of the benefits of being an educator in Virginia, but I absolutely cannot get a loan. Earlier on, my two brothers went to college but never graduated, which destroyed my parent's credit so every loan I've ever applied for has been denied with them being cosigners. I also have no credit myself and do not make enough from my on-campus jobs to get a loan on my own. Due to loans being denied including the parent plus loan, I was able to max out my federal loans but it still does not cover everything. I have about 5,000 dollars to pay off this semester, and then will get my undergrad degree then start grad school Fall 2019.

Other information that might be useful:
I currently work as an RA and will make 4,000 dollars over the course of the semester, however, it is hard to budget this money as I have to pay for other college expenses

I have another on-campus job that pays about 8 bucks an hour and will work 12 hours out of the week

I'm considering getting a cheap credit card and buying inexpensive items to actually have a credit score

fell-like-rain

• Stubble
Re: How to get a loan with no credit? College student
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2019, 12:19:30 PM »