Author Topic: How to figure out when to switch places to rent?  (Read 3758 times)

Angie55

How to figure out when to switch places to rent?
« on: February 13, 2015, 09:09:03 AM »
Just wondering how everyone decides to switch rentals. For the first 10 years of my rental life, we moved at the end of the lease chasing cheaper rent or better/larger housing. Our current place, we've stayed at for 2.5 years which is a record! Alas, the rent is going up $80, conveniently what I expect my measly raise to be starting the same exact month.

Currently we rent a SFH in Denver. Even at the raised rate of $1650 it would be the lowest comparable rental in the area other than apartment buildings. I'm an engineer, so I calculate everything down to the penny. I'm not sure if I'm under- or over-estimating the cost of moving. One of the main costs of moving is a) Lost security deposits and b) paying for overlap days or weeks to accommodate move in/out dates. In my calculations to overcome these losses requires finding an even better steal rate at 200+ less a month. Which, if we are paying undermarket now, is pretty hard to do!

For example, Our management company has 2 stars on yelp and lots of reviews about security deposits being ravashed. Also, renting 10+ places I've always had awful luck with returned deposits and fighting over the amounts which are usually very low. So I'm assuming all or the majority of that money is lost or tied up for a long time. ~1500. Meanwhile putting a deposit on another place would be 1500 minimum. Add on another 500 for an overlap week to move. Then another 500 or so for incidentals. This would be to move into another place where the management company seems WORSE than the one we have now. So I would consider the new deposit lost again (but consider as a bonus to receive lower rent I guess?).