Author Topic: How to calculate savings rate for the not mathematically inclined  (Read 9198 times)

badassprof

• Stubble
Hi everyone:

Just wondering if someone has some thoughts about the best way to calculate our savings rate. Part of our savings is pretax (401ks) and part of it is a dollar amount from take home. How would you calculate that?  Also, do any of you count employer matches or stock options into savings rates or do you just consider that extra? Thanks.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Last Edit: February 15, 2013, 01:56:38 PM by arebelspy »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

badassprof

• Stubble
Re: How to calculate savings rate for the not mathematically inclined
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2013, 02:15:08 PM »
ha, ha!  Clearly I have some afternoon reading to do!

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2013, 03:47:17 PM »
Probably the wrong question to ask on this forum but does it really matter what your savings rate is?

I reckon a better measure is the concept of "jaws" (think of a big saltwater crocodile). Getting income up and expenses down and progressively growing that gap.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2013, 04:10:39 PM »
Probably the wrong question to ask on this forum but does it really matter what your savings rate is?

I reckon a better measure is the concept of "jaws" (think of a big saltwater crocodile). Getting income up and expenses down and progressively growing that gap.

Just for projections, and measuring progress, and setting goals.

In other words, no, not really.