Author Topic: How to bike to work?  (Read 7338 times)

Timmmy

• Bristles
How to bike to work?
« on: August 05, 2014, 02:45:43 PM »
I'm an admitted clown car driver.  I live stupidly close to work to not ride a bike but I don't.  My reason excuse is my morning routine. 

Some facts:
- I go to the gym 5 days a week before work
- I have to be dressed nice for work (read - dress shirt)
- Gym is 6 miles away
- Work is 5 miles away and 1 mile from gym
- One day a week I work in an office 18 miles away

So my normal routine is:
Wake up @ 5:00
Leave house @ 5:20
Workout
Shower and dress at gym
Leave gym sometime between 7:15 and 7:45
Start work at 8:00

I don't have a problem getting up earlier to ride to the gym or riding home after work.  My issue is, how do I get dress clothes from home to the gym so that they are still presentable?  As of now they are on hangers when I take them in to the gym. 

Any suggestions as to how to make this work?

Eric

• Magnum Stache
Re: How to bike to work?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 02:50:32 PM »
I'm also dressed nice for work.  I just fold my button down dress shirt and slacks and put them (on top) in my backpack.  It doesn't seem to be an issue as far as wrinkles go.

Edit -- I also keep my dress shoes at work instead of carrying them everyday, so I wear my tennis shoes to and from work
« Last Edit: August 05, 2014, 02:54:19 PM by Eric »

marblejane

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 02:57:43 PM »
Yeah, just fold your items carefully. I also keep my dress shoes at work and have folding flats to wear to/from the gym to the office.

In my gym locker room, there is a clothes rack with hangers. I hang up my items before I shower to allow any wrinkles some time to fall out.

I've never used it, but my gym locker room also has a full sized ironing board and iron, so I guess I could technically iron my clothes in the gym before work.

mjs111

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2014, 03:21:31 PM »