Author Topic: How should I put a promotion to the same title on my resume?  (Read 2084 times)

rabidshark

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How should I put a promotion to the same title on my resume?
« on: October 10, 2018, 05:56:29 PM »
So great news! I got promoted on Monday, got a ~10% raise, got additional responsibilities, management duties, and...my title is staying the same. Under the revised tiers for my department, my previous role as a Senior Scientist is now considered a Scientist II, and my new role is considered a promotion from a Scientist II to a Senior Scientist. So last Friday I was a Senior Scientist under the old tiering system, and as of this Monday I'm a Senior Scientist under the new tiering system.

I'm wondering what the best way to write this up would be, as my preference would be to show in my resume...
1. I've been promoted twice in my time with said company, and...
2. I've been a Senior Scientist since the time of my first promotion.

I was considering labeling the titles as "Senior Scientist (Tier V)" and "Senior Scientist (Tier VI)" but they've added an additional intermediate role which would make my current role more like Tier VII, and frankly that would be even more confusing! I'm thinking of settling with just two job titles with a descriptor that implies the second is a further promotion, not sure if headhunters would dig that deep though...

I understand this isn't directly financial advice, but a properly worded resume goes a long way towards getting the right job and income to accelerate retirement.

Thank you for your time!

Papa bear

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How should I put a promotion to the same title on my resume?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2018, 07:04:45 PM »
I’m a headhunter.  Put down your actual title and next to it, put promotion to manager or something to that effect.

So:

X Corp, somewheresville
  Senior scientist, management
    Job duties

Senior scientist, individual contributor
    Job duties