Author Topic: How quickly did former consumers change their spending ways?  (Read 5750 times)

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
  • A hybrid of MMM and thoughtful consumer.
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the site, like so many others I discovered MMM from the recent article in the Washington Post.  And MMMs philosophy really spoke to me, it was like finding religion (said the agnostic).  The missus and I are typical consumers, but we have also put away a decent nest egg for the future.  We don't spend more than we have, we did buy a rental home last year, I prepay on the primary mortgage, and I invest in the stock market, and my only debt is the remaining balance on the primary mortgage and the rental, and two years left on a car (less than 200K total, all at 4% or less).  So I'm comfortable with the investing side of the equation.  One caveat for us is that the missus is 59 and I am 46, so she is rapidly nearing retirement anyway.  I figured the missus would retire "on schedule" (65 or 66) and I would go on working another 20 years or so and also retire at 66.

But now I've caught the mustachian fever regarding how much we consume, and I'm convinced it won't be a passing fad because I already was investing and refusing to borrow for anything (except the car, which was a 0% loan over 60 months so essentially a delayed purchase).  My new short term goal is to pay off the rental in three years, for the missus to retire at 63, and my longer term goal is for me to retire at 56.