Author Topic: How old were you when you officially started working?  (Read 29451 times)

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
How old were you when you officially started working?
« on: April 23, 2014, 09:18:04 PM »
I was just thinking about this due to another question...

So how old were you and what was the job?

And this "officially" part means when you started working and paying into SS/taxes so your babysitting and lawnmowing or other teenager jobs might not count unless you were "in the system" at that point.

I was 15, and I worked in a toy store.
So technically, I've had over 25 years of work experience already - no wonder I'm tired!

Unofficially, I was working at 6, manning my koolaid stand and was babysitting by 11. ;)

HappierAtHome

• Walrus Stache
Re: How old were you when you officially started working?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 09:35:08 PM »
13. Checkout chick at my local grocery store. I think I earnt $7.50 an hour, not too shabby at all :-)

This means I've been working for just over half my life...

Zikoris

• Magnum Stache
  • Vancouverstachian
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2014, 09:39:05 PM »
13, farm labour.

Daisy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2014, 09:41:33 PM »
14 as an unpaid candy striper over the summer.

I worked every summer after that and part time during the first two years in college with an 18 credit load. These were paid clerical office jobs. Then internships every summer in college, earning enough to sustain me through the year. I lived at home so it was for spending money.

So, yes, I have thought about working for 30 years now that I am in my mid-40s. I've also used it as an excuse for being tired of working. So I won't feel guilty at all ER-ing soon.