Author Topic: How much would you need to be FI if you kept working (for fun) and only lived off of that income?  (Read 31587 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
It is my dream to put around $800k in the bank, only work jobs that I find fun, and then budget and live off of that income. $800k is my magic little number, but I'm now wondering if maybe $600k would do it. It's close to a FIRE strategy, but I enjoy working fun jobs and being around people and having structure. I think my DH and I could bring in at least $2k a month without trying very hard. I also enjoy the idea of being more socially "normal" by having a job.

How much would you need in the bank to let yourself work fun jobs for the next 20 years?

Mrs. S

• Stubble
    • Royally Frugal
We have thought about this but I never run numbers. I also wonder what is it that I would like to do after I retire. Time to run the numbers.

Lagom

• Handlebar Stache
I am new to this life-perspective but in light of recent and very positive life-changes, I'm starting to truly understand the magic of self-belief, meaning that my number for something like you describe is decreasing by the day. To ballpark it for the sake of fun speculation, I'll first convert my wife's expected pension (already vested) into theoretical 401k dollars, which my gut tells me makes my number (as a Bay Area resident who does not own a home, mind you) something like $500-600k before I would feel comfortable experimenting with a 100% "fun" job/project approach. Granted the field I am entering (as a career changer) is pretty hot and high-paying, at least for now.

The Money Monk

• Pencil Stache
I'm not sure I understand. How much would I need in the bank to only work 'fun' jobs?...and...what? Still have a X% savings rate?  Still make $X per year?

bigalsmith101

• Pencil Stache
  • Yes, that's really my face.
    • No Jobs, No Responsibilities, No Better Time then Now