Author Topic: How much to invest?  (Read 2566 times)

runhb82

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How much to invest?
« on: December 16, 2014, 05:23:14 AM »
I recently started thinking about my overall savings and realized while I've done a good job stacking--where my cash is sitting, may not be the smartest. Do people have thoughts as to how much of your cash should be allocated to investing/long term savings/safety net? I'm a 30 year old female, no debt...and my only fixed expenses are rent and my cell. All my holdings are currently in CD's/Smarty Pig/Ally. I've been researching Betterment and Wealthfront--unfortunately, I live in DC and the Lending Club does not service DC residents yet. I'm a newbie in the investing game--so any advice would be greatly appreciated...thanks!

MooseOutFront

• Pencil Stache
Re: How much to invest?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 06:17:48 AM »
Do you contribute to a 401k?  That would be an easy place to start automatically investing via payroll deductions each month.  I would look for the lowest expense ratio S&P500 or total stock market index fund in there and forget about it for now.  Also now would be a good time to open an IRA, traditional or Roth for 2014 and send $5500 to it.  Use Vanguard.

At 30, you really shouldn't have fear of losing your money. 

Read some books asap.  I would start with the following series of blog posts from JL Collins
http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/

Then I would read Bogleheads Guide to Investments and then Swedroe's The only Guide to a Winning Investment Strategy you'll ever need.  You should be able to get all that done within a couple months.  Then you'll know more than my cardiologist buddy that fancies himself a successful investor (he is not.  just an active investor.)

ioseftavi

• Bristles
Re: How much to invest?
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 07:51:25 AM »