Author Topic: How much is too much alcohol?  (Read 19624 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: How much is too much alcohol?
« Reply #50 on: April 29, 2014, 06:39:18 AM »
Winers?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: April 29, 2014, 06:45:54 AM »
Seems like a lot to me.

Try not drinking any booze for a month, and see how you feel.  If it ends up that you have extreme difficulty doing this, maybe re-examine your habit.  If there's no problem giving up your drinking, then there's probably no problem with the amount that you're having.

James

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #52 on: April 29, 2014, 07:15:25 AM »
I have asked myself the same question some weeks. I will get off work on a post call day, deal with the kids for a few hours, and by evening I'm ready for a couple beers. Then I wonder if having a couple beers on a weeknight is healthy. Especially if I am also having a few on the weekend.

On the other hand, I also go some weeks with only a beer or two all week.

Regarding cost, I'm brewing up a batch of hard cider right now, hoping that will stand in for some beer without causing me to drink a lot more. We will see.

Just good to be asking yourself the question, and probably best to make sure you can go a week without wine every so often just to make sure you are keeping it under control.

worms

• Bristles
« Reply #53 on: April 29, 2014, 09:03:35 AM »
I guess the medical advice varies around the globe, but it seems to be fairly well accepted that a couple of alcohol-free days a week is good practice, to give the liver a little down-time and as a check against the risk of addiction.