Author Topic: How much is job security and stress free work worth?  (Read 8885 times)

powersln

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How much is job security and stress free work worth?
« on: January 20, 2013, 02:31:18 PM »
I'm a software developer with 3 years of experience making around $46,000 a year.   I absolutely love my job, have near zero stress, and work no longer than 40 hours a week.   The company also has never had layoffs (not that it's a guarantee to be the case if the future).  A recruiter reached out to me and wants me to interview for a job.   The job in question looks interesting and the pay will be at least $75,000 a year.

Considering that I'm comfortable where I'm at, is it worth the risk to jump ship?   I will have to pay $5,000 back to my current company for tuition reimbursement (working on master's degree), plus my employer contributions to my 401k are only 50% vested (so I might lose ~$1,000 there).

Skyn_Flynt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: How much is job security and stress free work worth?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2013, 02:35:18 PM »
If you didn't write the second paragraph, I'd have said take the gamble and accept the offer. But I'm the kind of person that would feel some fidelity to an existing employer that helped me get an education.

I do understand a bit what you're saying. I really enjoyed my first job out of college. I knew it paid less than market rates. I left when I got burned out on it, and wanted to move to another place after about 4 years.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2013, 02:37:21 PM by Skyn_Flynt »

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2013, 02:38:45 PM »
For a chance to increase your income by such a large amount, I'd say take the chance.  Maybe the new job will also be awesome.  Or maybe you can leverage the offer into a raise from your current employer,

c

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2013, 02:58:07 PM »