Author Topic: How much car can I "afford"  (Read 3900 times)

mozar

• Magnum Stache
How much car can I "afford"
« on: November 12, 2019, 02:55:44 PM »
Hello, I'm at an impass with myself for how much to spend on a car. This is my first time buying a car. I'm thinking about either the honda fit or Prius C. Are there other considerations besides going with the cheapest car with the lowest mileage?

I've been unemployed for two years and I had a job interview today where I would need a car.
I have 155k in index funds. 30k is liquid. I bring in 1500 a month in rental income. My expenses are 2100 a month before rental income. I don't know what should determine how much I should spend on a car.

honeybbq

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How much car can I "afford"
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2019, 03:06:48 PM »
You've given very little information. Unemployed for 2 years is a long time. What have you been living off of for the past 24 months?

How much will you make?
Why do you need a car if you've been without for so long?
Can you not bus/bike/walk?

With no further information my answer would be: as little as possible.

mozar

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2019, 03:23:08 PM »
I've been living off savings. The starting salary is 17 an hour. They said they would try to find sites for me close to public transportation but it would be difficult in the long run. And the public transit takes a long time. It took me 2 and a half hours just to get to the interview. I also want the car to last at least 5 years. A beater that fails in a few months is not ideal.

Say a car is 10k and a similar car is 11k with a few less miles. How am I supposed to decide?

honeybbq

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2019, 03:34:06 PM »