Author Topic: How many of you work paid overtime?  (Read 23772 times)

ender

• Walrus Stache
How many of you work paid overtime?
« on: March 11, 2014, 08:04:01 PM »
I work as a salaried employee but my department occasionally has the option for optional overtime (paid, at 1.5x my normal hourly rate, but also factors into 401k match and any year-end bonus, so it is closer to 1.65x hourly compensation).

This works out to about $500 a week if I work 10 hours.

I'm already saving $1k a month for a house after maxing a 401k/HSA so it's not like I need the money. It translates to only $200 or so takehome pay per week, which is not insignificant but hard to motivate me to be gone more.

I guess working 10 hours paid overtime each week would let me roughly double my house savings rate. I'm never sure how to evaluate this and am curious what others think.

wtjbatman

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How many of you work paid overtime?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 08:25:07 PM »
You already know what the monetary benefits are. So I think when evaluating it from here you need to look at how you feel about it on a personal level. It depends on how you feel about being at work longer, and if it's worth it to you. If you hate your job and you are miserable at work it might not be worth it. But if you either like or don't mind your job, the extra money can make up for a lot IMO. I work overtime every other week as part of my regular schedule (I work five 12 hour shifts in a row), and I love the big pay check. We also have to cover shifts a lot, so that's additional overtime. It makes work a lot more tolerable knowing I am being paid time and a half. Working overtime also bumps up my vacation pay, so that's another bonus. So for me it's not only worth it, I count on the overtime. The more overtime I work, the more I am able to save, and the closer I get to FIRE.