Author Topic: How low can you go: surprising energy hogs in your home?  (Read 41556 times)

Kaspian

• Handlebar Stache
    • My Necronomicon of Badassity
Re: How low can you go: surprising energy hogs in your home?
« Reply #50 on: October 10, 2014, 01:12:02 PM »
...Many CFL's die prematurely because of that. If you have CFL's die in areas where you flip them on and off frequently, consider LED's simply to extend their lifespan, maybe breaking even.. You also get the instant on benefit, and no mercury. (I used up my collection of CLF bulbs before going to LED's- we still have a couple CFL's in use)

I've been using CFLs for about three years (I guess?) and still haven't had one die on me.  (Except for that one which rolled off the counter onto the tile floor.)  According to FAQs on them a CFL running 5 hours per day should last 4-8 years.  I never run any one bulb anywhere near that many hours, but I'm just wondering--have you been using them even longer?  (I know they seemed to be commonly available in the USA before they hit Canada.)  Is it possible there are some weird power grid fluctuations in your area?

Yeah, I still don't like the mecury thing.  But fiinding out there's less mecury in a CFL than in a can of tunafish made it easier to overlook.  Yeah, I've met parents who feed their kids tuna, have no problem sticking grandma's old thermometer (contain 100 times more mecury) in a kid's mouth or bum, but are scared of CFLs.

Scandium

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #51 on: October 10, 2014, 01:20:49 PM »
Power Saving ideas:
- LED light bulbs everywhere.
- Electric kettle for boiling water. Using the stovetop is 2nd, and microWAVE is least efficient way to boil water.
- Pre-boil water for cooking (rice, pasta, etc) in the electric kettle.