Author Topic: How early is too early?  (Read 4617 times)

2bor!2b

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How early is too early?
« on: October 30, 2015, 12:31:41 PM »
I have been thinking about a job change for at least a year if not more. But I never got to it as I wanted to start a family and decided the pressures of a new job plus the reduction of maternity benefits was not worth it. Now I am expecting and due early next year.

When do you folks think is a good time to start looking around after the baby is here. I work in tech in Silicon Valley so the jobs are aplenty but I will need to do some serious studying before I start interviewing.

I am currently taking courses and I am planning to start looking for jobs within 4 months after baby is born. Is this plan feasible? I am a first time mom so I am not sure what to expect.

Lucky Girl

• Stubble
Re: How early is too early?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2015, 12:55:24 PM »
I would recommend waiting at least 8-9 months post baby to start looking.  I have two kids, and I found that it took at least that long to start to feel like we had reached a state of "normal" where I was able to think of things outside of pure survival. In the first six months you are so sleep deprived that you are barely rational most of the time--not a great time to be trying to make a good impression with a new employer.  Plus, your goals and wants can really shift post-baby and I think it is good to get to the point where you have the ability to reflect before jumping into something new.

I moved to a new job a little over a year after my second child was born, and found that I was able to do that successfully, but did feel like the first few months there I still needed to "pretend" to be committed to the job because the baby still took lots of my mental energy and focus.

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2015, 01:30:42 PM »
I would also wait 9 months to a year.