Author Topic: How does 401k work with young age early retirement?  (Read 5565 times)

FatCat

• Stubble
How does 401k work with young age early retirement?
« on: August 29, 2014, 10:21:55 AM »
I am wondering how the 401k helps with retirement if someone is wanting to retire at a younger age. I don't feel like I fully understand how it works. I know that my company does NOT do any matching at all, otherwise this would seem more appealing.

Please correct me if I'm wrong because this is something with which I have very little education or experience.

This is my understanding:
I can put up to $17.5k into the 401k and I don't have to pay taxes on that money now, but I pay the taxes on the year I take it out.
I can see tax benefits of this if my tax bracket is lower in retirement than it is now, and it probably will be. Otherwise I'm just paying taxes later, but still paying taxes.
However if I take it out before I'm 59.5, then I pay the taxes plus an additional 10% penalty.

This is the part where I don't understand the benefit for a very early retirement age. I don't consider late 50s to be "early retirement" even though some would.

So lets say I want to retire at age 40. I have to pay a 10% penalty on anything I take out? It seems like my money is just locked up until I'm 60 which is something I don't want to do.

geekette

• Magnum Stache
Re: How does 401k work with young age early retirement?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 10:25:29 AM »
This comes up often - search for Roth pipeline here or on on the web. 

MustachianWays

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 12:20:13 PM »
You can roll your 401k into a traditional IRA at any time with no penalty and then convert portions of the traditional IRA to a Roth IRA. When you convert funds from traditional to roth, you pay taxes on the converted amount and that amount is now considered a 'contribution' and can be withdrawn after 5 years tax and penalty free.