Author Topic: How do you use YNAB?  (Read 6774 times)

Milspecstache

• Pencil Stache
How do you use YNAB?
« on: February 15, 2014, 02:14:00 PM »
I have read many posts on this forum about You Need A Budget so I downloaded the trial version.  I've been using Excel since 2000 to do my budget which plans my spending but don't really do a good job of tracking expenditures so I think YNAB will help here.  Comparing the two so far I prefer my Excel sheet's usability for most of it.

So what I'm thinking is this:  use my spreadsheet to give me an amount for discretionary spending each month (after fixed bills, incomes, etc) and then track the discretionary spending by itself using YNAB to reach the goals that I set.

Anyone else doing this?

Bored

Re: How do you use YNAB?
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2014, 02:39:24 PM »
You can use YNAB for expense tracking but you don't get the same benefit using it unless you use the software as they suggest. Have you watched any of the live or recorded classes? I would suggest it's worth watching them and deciding whether the software is actually designed for what you need. Its main focus is budgeting, not expense tracking.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2014, 02:41:03 PM by Bored »

TacosForever

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2014, 02:58:23 PM »
Definitely watch the introductory webinar. It's a very different approach from traditional budgeting, and if you don't use it in the way it's designed to be used, I think the software is of limited value. I was using it completely wrong and didn't realize it until I did the webinar.